Party week is crafty week!

Last week was birthday week here at T&T HQ and, boy, was it busy! So much so that blogging and my usual crafting went totally out of the window but my big little man is just so very worth it!

A few months ago, he requested a dinosaur cake. I found an image to use for inspiration that I could work with and felt fairly happy that I could achieve it. Then I started plotting for a dinosaur themed party.

We made papier mache dino eggs – which T&T both helped with – you can see the finished eggs on the birthday party table below.IMG_3627 IMG_3632

Mr T&T helped me to making dino bunting. I drew the templates and did the cutting out – my craft scissors are mine and only mine!

IMG_3641 IMG_3655

And I also whipped up some dino foot prints.

IMG_3756

And, Ta da!!! We decorated the boy shed. Sadly We ran out of time to get it properly finished but it is functional and, for two small boys, that’s all that matters.

IMG_3645 IMG_3648

…and then came the cakes. Mr Toad had a slight change of heart at the beginning of the week and decided to add a butterfly into the mix, followed by Star Wars!!! Oh, and the cake needed to be pink. I had been planning on blue or green. Pink is Toad’s favourite colour, so I don’t suppose I should have really been all that surprised. But I was. Having two boys, I hadn’t ever imagined creating either butterfly cakes or pink ones but, last week I did both.

We crafted (in the loosest sense of the word) a butterfly cake together for Toad’s actually birthday. Just to be clear, this cake was a butterfly, dinosaur cake whilst the cake made for his party was a dinosaur, butterfly, Star Wars cake. Confused? Well, hopefully, the photographs below will explain things a little.

Here is the Butterfly, Dinosaur Cake:

IMG_3710 IMG_3711

IMG_3715

We like to think of it as rustic and Toad had such wonderful fun helping to decorate it and deciding that the dinosaurs should be eating the chocolate sauce.

And here is the Dinosaur, Butterly, Star Wars cake:

IMG_3729  IMG_3736 IMG_3738 IMG_3742 IMG_3743 IMG_3746

Spot the dinosaur and the light sabre:

IMG_3748 Toad’s party was, sadly, small but he loved all of the dino touches and the eggs went down a storm. This morning he polished off the dino’s horns and teeth and, tonight, Tiny snuck a few toes into his little tummy. When T&T are involved, deconstructing pink with blue spots dinosaur, butterfly Star Wars cake turns out to be far more enjoyable than I had imagined!

Thank you for reading

logo_1728122_web

p.s. This week is exciting too…more of that tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “Party week is crafty week!

Leave a Reply

