It’s beginning to feel a bit like…

At T&T HQ time seems to disappear into a vacuum. I’m sure that I only published my last blog 5 minutes ago, yet just over two weeks have passed. It’s been busy, T&T have been fun (and tiring!) and we seem to be setting ourselves up for winter’s hibernation. This last weekend, we’ve all made the most of the good weather and spent both days out in the garden getting muddy. We’ve been in our home for just over a year and just hadn’t quite taken ownership of the garden…until Saturday afternoon. It’s a bit of a back to the drawing board plan since what we inherited was a little lacking in the aesthetic department and, frankly, neither of us know a whole lot about how not to kill plants, but we’re about to learn!

The creativity has, of course, not been limited to the garden, I’ve added to my yarn stash with lots of dusky pinks, neutrals and Christmassy colours with the result that I am currently caretaker of a constantly growing collection of works in progress. I’ve promised myself that I have until the end of the week to remedy that situation.

IMG_2752

This is the beginning of a rug using Hooked Zpagetti yarn. This is t-shirt yarn – a waste product from the textile industry. Using such a large hook and this yarn is hard on the hands so this one is going to be a pick up and put down project. Since it is for us, there is no particular hurry.

I have managed to finish the odd project in the last couple of weeks.

IMG_2875 IMG_2877

This is my finished Attic24 ripple ‘blanket’. Truthfully, I am not a blanket girl, I just find them far too repetitive. I love the finished look of this ripple blanket but  I started it in June 2014 and finished about ten days ago and it’s considerably shorter than it is wide – just the depth of the sofa seat. I couldn’t even begin to estimate how many times I have picked it up and put it down again. So, for now, I am going to retire from hooking blankets and concentrate on my smaller (and quicker!) projects.

It’s beginning to feel like the right time to start preparing for Christmas and that means it’s wreath season. I am experimenting with covering them in more uncommonly crafted with materials and I am particularly pleased with my garden twine version. It isn’t finished, but here’s the start:

IMG_2881 IMG_2882 IMG_2883 IMG_2884 IMG_2885

I used a 25cm half ring for this project so it will be the right size for hanging on a front door. Next job (on this project at least) is to finally decide on embellishments.

One of my cousins welcomed a baby girl at the beginning of the month and I’m nearly finished with her gift:


IMG_3029IMG_3030 IMG_3040 IMG_3042

I’m on a little journey in cotton and these flowers are part of my experiment in crochet cotton in particular.

Oh, and it is beginning to look a little like Christmas:
   IMG_3120
IMG_3212
The cone tree is very much a work in progress (another one!) and the first of many, many things I have in mind for Christmas 2015. Watch this space!

Image 02-09-2015 at 10.27-0

6 thoughts on “It’s beginning to feel a bit like…

  1. Thank you for the encouragement despite my ugly t-shirt yarn! I think I would rather work with Hooked yarn, or cheap acrylic. I had lint all over my desk (and in my nose!) after I unrolled my ball of up cycled t-shirt strips. I would like to see that rug when it’s done!

    Like

Leave a Reply

