Hearts, hearts and more hearts

Life has been busy. Very busy.

I’ve just been  away for a fab weekend with the girls and suddenly realised that it’s been a while since I blogged. With each day recently busting at the seams, I’ve got quite a lot of creativity to share and, I’m really excited to be sharing my first ever pattern. Complete with pictures (and a link to a video!). With that in mind, here’s the last 10 days in pictures:

Valentine’s Heart- it’s this little heart that you will find the pattern for below!

IMG_0535

“Be my Valentine”

IMG_0577

IMG_0585

IMG_0578_2 IMG_0579 IMG_0580 IMG_0581 IMG_0582_2

IMG_0590

This was how I spent my Valentine’s evening: IMG_0596_2

G was poorly and doesn’t do Valentine’s day anyway…wine, chocolate and crochet wasn’t a bad second best!

The beautiful hyacinths have bloomed:

IMG_0617_2

It was my Mum’s birthday. Her favourite flowers are freesias…and I had to accept that challenge:

\IMG_0615

That tiny little bud at the end was the greatest challenge.

 IMG_0630 IMG_0633

There is a lot of wire inside that bloom and I ended up oversizing it a little, but this is the by product of not following patterns- it’s all a little ad hoc. That’s the way I like it.

One Freesia was insufficient so I added some roses and little blue creation of my imagination and woo hooooo, I had a posy. Or, really, Mum had a posy. I had Toad (he’s 3) deliver Grandma her posy…there was a little lump in my throat. He just loves delivering flowers…and he does it so beautifully. He even made sure that Grandma knew that “Mummy made them” I think she might have guessed.

IMG_0647 IMG_0649

On Friday I was flicking through my Comic Relief Crafternoon magazine whilst Tiny (who had been up most of the night…with lucky old me) slept when I happened across the idea of making Toad a beard. The beards in the mag are knitted and I can’t knit (Well, I tried. It was not a success. The second stick just confuses me) so, after a quick online search, I came up with a fun looking pattern from Autumn Falls Creations. Which you can find here. I am a compulsive pattern fiddler, thus my version is a twist on the original not least because she doesn’t have a child sized pattern. I used DK yarn and a 4mm hook.

Toad, predictably, asked for a pink beard (he’s a fan, a big fan. He’s possibly actually more of a fan of pink than me) and a couple of hours later whoo hooo…..and he spent most of Friday afternoon wearing it.

IMG_0659_2

I’ve been working on a secret new baby gift for which I have run out of yarn so, whilst I wait for my Wool Warehouse delivery, I’ve been adding to my Attic 24 Ripple blanket. This is such a lovely theraputic pattern and I am in love with the colours:

IMG_0728_2

Now for the hearty bit

Please treat me kindly. This is my first ever attempt at writing a pattern. I hope it creates something that resembles a heart…I hope!

This is what we’re aiming at:

IMG_0535

The pattern is written in UK crochet terms and uses the following stitches:

Double Crochet (dc)

Half Treble Crochet (htr)

Treble Crochet (tr)

Double Treble (dtr)

Slip stitch (ss)

I used dk yarn and a 3mm hook to make the heart nice and tight.

This pattern starts with a magic circle. That will work up something like this:

IMG_0731_2        IMG_0732 IMG_0733

You can find a how to video for the magic circle on my Facebook page here

Row 1: Chain 1 (this doesn’t count as a stitch) then work five dc into the magic circle – you work over the tail with each stitch and the finished row will look something like this:

IMG_0747_2

The next step is to pull your tail tight so that your five little double crochets make a circle:

IMG_0748

Then SS to the first dc (NOT the chain 1)

Now we are going to work into the five stitches around the edge. Don’t crochet into the stitch that you have put the ss into. Instead start in the next stitch (you will still have five to work into) (I am not sure that this method is conventional, but it’s how I do it)

Into the first stitch work 1dc, 1htr and 1tr:

IMG_0749

Into the second stitch work two tr and then two htr

IMG_0750

The stitches that you work into the third stitch are going to make the point. Work 1dc, 1dtr, 1dc and here’s your point:

IMG_0751

Into the fourth stitch work two htr followed by two tr (this is the reverse of the stitches that you worked into the second stitch)

IMG_0752

Finally work 1tr, 1htr and 1 dc into the fifth stitch – this is the reverse of the stitches that you worked into the first stitch.

Now finish it off to your taste. Sometimes I ss down into the middle of the original magic circle and finish off. Other times I don’t join and just finish off. Then I use the darning in to make sure that the second ‘lump’ is finished off to match the first.

You can see that I have dropped down into the middle of this one:

IMG_0535

But not here:

       IMG_0591So there you go woo hoooo, my first ever pattern….any questions, you know where I am!

One thought on “Hearts, hearts and more hearts

Leave a Reply

